Catching Up…

It’s been a busy week…

Not much riding, but plenty of other stuff.

The kids went to tetrathlon training (run 1.5km, swim as far as you can in 4 minutes, shoot, ride cross country) and are now all inspired to compete in a local event at the end of February. Of course, this meant the ponies needed to be kitted out with new boots for cross country:

Splint boots for all.. Blue for Mojo, purple for Angel.

Splint boots for all.. Blue for Mojo, purple for Angel.

We have had a long weekend here for Australia Day and spent the 3 days at a local lake water skiing. I tried… I think I’ll stick to horse riding! Both girls however are now up on double skis and delighted with themselves. My husband managed to ski again after a 10 year break, so he was pretty happy too.

I meanwhile was quite content to sit and watch everyone else have fun, enjoy camping, and read a good book. The kids are as brown as nuts and I am too. It was also a good run for all the camping gear to work out what we still need before the Easter endurance ride.

 

Ashleigh's sand creation made while not skiing

Ashleigh’s sand creation, made while not skiing

I haven’t ridden anyone since my last post, but I am off to Perth this weekend for a dressage lesson, and to drop Savannah off for “boot camp”. A friend of mine who recently lost her horse, and who has a youngster who is not quite ready to be started under saddle yet, has agreed to take Savannah for a few months to work her. She’s not yet at the point where I could turn her out for 6 months without her regressing to square one, and with the 2 boys in work I would battle to ride her much this winter. This way, my friend can still get some riding done without all the angst and commitment of buying another horse, and Savannah will get some more education. A win win, really.

So, an update from that next week. Meanwhile, I leave you with some amusement:

One side of Angel after being hosed off, post cross country training...

One side of Angel after being hosed off, post cross country training…

And the other side!!

And the other side!!

And in one of the great unanswered questions of our time:

Why do I have glitter glue in my pantry??/

Why do I have glitter glue in my pantry??/

 

Leave a Reply

